يجب التحرّك عاجلاً لمحاسبة القنصلية الكينية في لبنان وتحميلها مسؤوليتها أمام مواطناتها

مناصرة الحالات

السياق

منذ السادس من شهر كانون الثاني 2022، تنفّذ نساء كينيات اعتصامًا واحتجاجات أمام قنصليتهنّ في لبنان، مطالباتٍ بإعادتهنّ إلى بلادهنّ وبالدعم الكافي من طاقم القنصلية. هذه ليست حادثة منفصلة عن غيرها؛ فيأتي هذا الاعتصام بعد مناشدات عدّة من العاملات الكينيات في لبنان، وبعد اعتصام مفتوح مماثل في شهر آب من العام 2020. وفي الوقت عينه، كانت "سي أن أن-CNN" قد نشرت قصّة كاملة حول ممارسات القنصلية وانتهاكاتها بعنوان "كيف أصبحت القنصلية الكينية في لبنان تخشى النساء اللواتي يفترض أن تساعدهنّ". لم تجرِ السفارة الكينية في الكويت، حتّى الآن، أيّ تحقيق رسمي بخصوص الادّعاءات والاتّهامات الخطيرة الواردة في المقال.

تخضع عاملات المنازل الكينيات في لبنان منذ سنوات لنظام الكفالة العبودي الذي يحرمهنّ من أبسط حقوق الإنسان وحقوق العمل، كسائر عاملات المنازل المهاجرات من مختلف الجنسيات. وفي ظلّ تقاعس الحكومة التامّ، تبقى القنصلية الكينية الملجأ الأوحد والأخير للعاملات الكينيات اللواتي يحتجنَ الحماية والدعم في لبنان. ولكن، في مواجهة الأزمات المتعدّدة التي تواجه لبنان والمصاعب الكثيرة التي تعاني منها جميع عاملات المنازل المهاجرات في البلد، تبقى القنصلية غير متجاوبة على الإطلاق، مستخدمةً رسائل "الواتساب" الآلية وباللغة الإنجليزية للردّ على حاجات مواطناتها التي عليها تلبيتها. لا تجيد جميع المواطنات اللغة الإنجليزية ممّا يطرح السؤال حول سبب عدم تكلّم أيٍّ من موظّفي القنصلية الحاليين اللغة السواحيليّة وهي إحدى اللغات الرسمية في كينيا. تتضمّن هذه الصعوبات التي أُبلغت مرارًا للقنصلية لائحةً طويلةً من الانتهاكات المروّعة -جسديًا ولفظيًا وجنسيًا في بعض الأحيان- من قبل أرباب العمل، وساعات عمل غير إنسانية، وحرمان من الراحة وأيّام العطل بالإضافة إلى أجور غير مدفوعة على مدى أشهر عديدة.

يضاف إلى ذلك أنّ النساء الكينيات قد بلّغنَ مرارًا عن حوادث مختلفة من سوء استخدام السلطة، وسوء المعاملة، والفساد من قبل موظّفي القنصلية الحاليّين. تتضمّن هذه الادّعاءات ابتزاز النساء غير النظاميات اللواتي يرغبن في العودة إلى بلدهنّ، واستغلالهنّ، وتحصيل مبالغ مختلفة من الأموال للقيام بالإجراءات نفسها للنساء اللواتي لم يتلقّينَ أيّ دعم بعد دفعهنّ المبالغ المطلوبة.

ما يزيد الأمور سوءًا هو أنّ العديد من الكينيات المعتصمات أمام القنصلية أتينَ إلى لبنان منذ بضعة أشهر فقط. تفيد النساء أنّهنّ تعرّضنَ للكذب من قبل الوكلاء والوسطاء في بلدهنّ، ولم يُبلَّغنَ عن الوضع الحقيقي للأزمة الاقتصادية من ضمنها انهيار العملة، بالإضافة لشروط العمل تحت نظام الكفالة في لبنان.

لذلك، نشارك العاملات الكينيات المطالب التالية: 

  1. تسهيل العودة الفورية للكينيات وجميع عاملات المنازل المهاجرات في لبنان اللواتي يرغبن بالعودة إلى بلادهنّ، وذلك عبر قنصلياتهنّ.

  2. في ضوء الاعتصامات المستمرّة، والشكاوى الموثّقة والمتعدّدة عبر السنوات، لم يعد من الممكن تجاهل ادّعاءات الفساد وسوء المعاملة الموجّهة للقنصلية الكينية. على الحكومة الكينية والسفارة الكينية في الكويت اتّخاذ إجراءات جدّية بهذا الخصوص، ومن ضمنها: أ- الإقالة الفورية لطاقم القنصلية الحالي، تُتبع بتحقيق جدّي ومستقلّ في التقارير المتعدّدة عن حالات سوء المعاملة من قبل الطاقم المذكور، ب- محاسبة الموظّفين الحاليّين لسوء استخدامهم للسلطة وعدم تجاوبهم، ج- إعادة العاملات إلى بلدهنّ بعد أن دفعن المال لقاء هذه الخدمة دون تلقّيها. 

  3. تعيين طاقم قنصلي مؤهَّل وكفوء وسريع التجاوب لدعم طلباتهن في الوقت اللازم، مع ممثّلين كينيين قادرين على التواصل مع المواطنات الكينيّات باللغة السواحيلية.

  4. المشاركة بإصلاح طويل الأمد لممارسات القنصلية لضمان المحاسبة الكاملة والسلوك الأخلاقي في خدماتها، من ضمنها: أ- وضع آلية دفع شفّافة وموحّدة وعادلة لإجراءات القنصلية ودعم العودة إلى الوطن، تكون متاحة لجميع العاملات الكينيات باللغتين الإنجليزية والسواحيلية، ب- توحيد عمليات الاستجابة لحالات الطوارىء، واستغلال العاملات، وأي انتهاكات أخرى لضمان تحقيقات وتدخّلات كاملة. 

  5. على الحكومة الكينية أن تراقب وتضع حدًّا لممارسات التوظيف غير الأخلاقيّة في بلادها، والتي ينتج عنها حالات متعدّدة من الاتجار بالبشر.

كيف يمكنكم/نّ تقديم الدعم؟

  • للأفراد والمنظّمات في لبنان: تحتاج المعتصمات إلى مساعدة مباشرة ليتمكّنَّ من متابعة الاعتصام. يتضمّن هذا الملابس الشتوية: معاطف، وكنزات صوف، وجوارب، وبطّانيات. كما يحتجنَ إلى مجموعات وقاية من فيروس كوفيد-19 (كمّامات ومعقّم للأيدي)، بالإضافة إلى المنتجات الصحّية. كما أنّ النساء اللواتي سيعُدنَ إلى بلدهنّ عبر منظّمات أخرى بحاجة ملحّة لحقائب سفر.

  • للأفراد والمنظّمات خارج لبنان: مشاركة هذا البيان مع السفارة الكينية في بلدكم/نّ. نشر الوعي حول القضية في شبكاتكم/نّ للمساعدة على إبقاء أصوات النساء الكينيات عالية قدر الإمكان حتّى تحقيق مطالبهنّ. 

للمعلومات والمستجدّات حول الاعتصام، يمكنكم متابعة هذه الصفحة التي أنشأتها المعتصمات لتغطية الاعتصامات ومشاركة آخر التحديثات حول حاجاتهنّ الملحّة.

مقالات مشابهة

لديك أي أسئلة؟

للاستعلام عن هذا البيان والسياق ، راسلنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني أو املأ النموذج.

Similar Posts

Urgent Action Needed to Hold the Kenyan Consulate in Lebanon Accountable to Kenyan Citizens in the Country

Case Advocacy

Context

Since the 6th of January 2022, Kenyan women have been holding a sit-in along with protests in front of their Consulate in Lebanon, demanding repatriation and adequate support from the Consular Staff. This is not an isolated incident; this protest comes after multiple appeals of the Kenyan workers in Lebanon, and a similar open protest in August 2020. At the time, CNN published a full feature about the Consulate’s practices and violations titled “How the Kenyan consulate in Lebanon became feared by the women it was meant to help.” No formal investigation to date has been carried out by the Kenyan Embassy in Kuwait into the serious allegations reported in the article.

Kenyan migrant domestic workers in Lebanon have been governed for years by the notorious Kafala ‘sponsorship’ system, which deprives workers from essential labor and human rights. Under complete inaction from the side of the Lebanese government, the Kenyan Consulate remains the only and last resort for Kenyan workers who need protection and assistance in the country. However, in face of the multilayered crises facing Lebanon, and the multitude of hardships endured by all Migrant Domestic Workers in the country, the consulate has remained completely unresponsive, using automated Whatsapp messages in English to respond to the needs of the citizens it is mandated to serve. These citizens are not all English speakers, which begs the question of why and how none of the current Consular staff are Swahili speakers, as it is one of the official languages of Kenya. These hardships repeatedly reported to the Consulate include a long list of horrifying physical, verbal and sometimes sexual abuses by the workers’ employers, inhumane working hours, deprivation of rest and days off as well as many months of unpaid wages.

Moreover, Kenyan women have repeatedly reported various incidents of abuse of power, mistreatment, and corruption by the current Consular staff. These claims include extorting and exploiting undocumented women who want to go home, and charging women different amounts of money for the same procedures, who often did not receive any support following their payment of requested amounts.

To make matters worse, many of the Kenyan protestors at the Consulate came to Lebanon only a few months ago. They reported that they were lied to by agents and mediators in their country, and were not told about the real situation concerning the currency crisis and the working conditions under the Kafala system in Lebanon.

Therefore, we join the Kenyan workers in the following demands: 

  1. The immediate repatriation of Kenyans, and all Migrant Domestic Workers in Lebanon, who wish to go home, by their respective consulates.

  2. In light of the ongoing protests, and the multiple complaints documented over the years, claims of abuse and corruption against the Kenyan Consulate can no longer be dismissed. The Kenyan government and the Kenyan Embassy in Kuwait should take serious action in that regard, including a) the immediate removal of the current Consular staff, followed by an independent serious investigation into the multiple reports of mistreatment by said staff b) holding the current representatives accountable for their abuse of power and unresponsiveness, c) remunerating workers who paid money for repatriation services they never received. 

  3. Having a competent and responsive Consular office that is able to support their needs and respond to them in a timely manner, with Kenyan representatives capable of communicating with Kenyan citizens in Swahili.

  4. Engage in long-term reform of the practices of the consulate to ensure full accountability and ethical conduct in its services, including: a) Setting transparent, standard, and fair payment of fees for consular processes and repatriation support, that is accessible to all Kenyan workers in English and Swahili b) Standard processes for emergency situations, labor abuse, and other violations to ensure thorough investigations and intervention. 

  5. For the Kenyan government to monitor, and put an end to the unethical recruitment practices in the country, resulting in multiple cases of human trafficking.

How can you support?

  • For individuals and organizations present in Lebanon: Protestors need direct assistance to continue with the protests. This includes winter clothes; jackets, pullovers, socks, and blankets. They also need COVID-19 protective kits (masks and hand sanitizers), as well as sanitary products. Women who are on their way to be repatriated by other organizations are in urgent need of suitcases.

  • For individuals and organizations outside of Lebanon: Share this statement with the Kenyan Embassy in your country. Raise awareness about the issue in your networks to help keep the Kenyan women’s voices as loud as possible, until their demands are met. 

For information and updates about the protests, follow this Instagram page the protestors have created to cover the protests and post updates about immediate needs.

Related Posts

Have Any Questions?

To inquire about this statement and the context, email us or fill the form.

Similar Posts